Reception and Gustav Stolper Award Ceremony

Reception by the Mayor of the City of Regensburg and Gustav Stolper Award Ceremony

Tuesday 26 Sept. / 19:00-22:00

The Mayor of the City of Regensburg welcomes the VfS members at the Old Town City Hall. Regina T. Riphahn, VfS Chair, will lead the award ceremony to the prestigious Gustav Stolper Award. Please note that registration to the event is required in advance. Participation is limited to 300 people.


  • Welcome Address by the Mayor of the City of Regensburg, Gertrud Maltz-Schwarzfischer
  • Welcome Address by the president of Universität Regensburg, Prof. Dr. Udo Hebel
  • Gustav Stolper Award Ceremony by Regina T. Riphahn (VfS Chair).

Gustav Stolper Award

The Gustav Stolper Award is awarded to outstanding scientists who have employed the findings of economic research to influence the public debate on economic issues and problems, and have made ​​important contributions to understanding and solving contemporary economic problems.

The award is named after the economist and journalist Gustav Stolper (1888 - 1947) who became co-editor of the Austrian journal "Österreichischer Volkswirt" in 1913 and was founder and editor of various economic publications.

As a board member of the German Democratic Party in the 1930 elections, Stolper was the leading candidate of the newly formed state party and was a member of the Reichstag. After the Nazis took power, Stolper and his family emigrated to the United States, where he worked as an economic advisor to a commission which assessed the political situation in Germany and Austria.

The Stolper Award is awarded irrespective of the age, and scholars may be honored only once.