Ethics

Ethics

The Code of Ethics of the Verein für Socialpolitik is part of the association's statutes. Here you find the Code of Ethics of the Verein für Socialpolitik, which has been in force since December 2021.

The ombudswoman is the contact person for the members. She enjoys the special trust of the membership with regard to her objectivity, independence, and fairness. She is elected for a two-year term by the Executive Board on the recommendation of the Managing Board. The ombudswoman treats all information provided to her in strict confidence, advises the person providing the information and mediates. After consultation with the person providing the information, he/she may inform the Ethics Committee. The Ethics Committee shall review the case confidentially and prepare a recommendation for action to the Managing Board.

Guiding principles

The guiding principles of the Code of Ethics of the Verein für Socialpolitik, as formulated in the preamble, are transparency, objectivity, independence and fairness. The code regulates the interaction of scientists with each other, for example through guidelines on the use and citation of their own and other authors' work, and also the relationship of scientists to their environment.

Self-commitment

Acceptance of the Code of Ethics is a condition of membership of the Verein für Socialpolitik.

Scope

The Code of Ethics is not a law, but an expression of social norms which apply to all members of the Verein für Socialpolitik. The editors and reviewers of the association's own journals, as well as the reviewers involved in the submission process of the association's conferences, are particularly committed to this Code. However, the Verein für Socialpolitik is also committed to ensuring that other journals from the German-speaking world conduct themselves in accordance with the Code.

Ombudsperson

  • Kerstin Schneider

    Prof. Dr. Kerstin Schneider

    University of Wuppertal

Ethics Committee

  • Ben Greiner

    Univ.Prof. Dr. Ben Greiner

    Vienna University of Economics and Business
  • Alexander Kriwoluzky

    Prof. Dr. Alexander Kriwoluzky

    DIW Berlin
  • Kerstin Schneider

    Prof. Dr. Kerstin Schneider

    University of Wuppertal
  • gggg

    Prof. Dr. Gesine Stephan

    Institute for Employment Research

Working Group "Code of Ethics"

The following members belong to this working group:

  • Georg Weizsäcker

    ©Matthias Heyde

    Prof. Georg Weizsäcker, Ph.D.

    Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin VfS Chair 2021-2022
  • Ben Greiner

    Univ.Prof. Dr. Ben Greiner

    Vienna University of Economics and Business
  • Alexander Kriwoluzky

    Prof. Dr. Alexander Kriwoluzky

    DIW Berlin
  • Aderonke Osikominu

    Prof. Dr. Aderonke Osikominu

    Hohenheim University
  • gggg

    ©Simon Wegener

    Prof. Dr. Bettina Rockenbach

    Cologne University Ombudsperson for Ethical Matters
  • Sulin Sardoschau

    Prof. Dr. Sulin Sardoschau

    Humboldt Universität zu Berlin
  • Kerstin Schneider

    Prof. Dr. Kerstin Schneider

    University of Wuppertal
  • Doris Weichselbaumer

    Prof. Dr. Doris Weichselbaumer

    Linz University Equal Opportunities Officer

Ethik

Ethik

Der Ethikkodex des Vereins für Socialpolitik kodifiziert Verhaltensnormen für gutes, aus Sicht des Vereins ethisch vertretbares wissenschaftliches Arbeiten in den Wirtschaftswissenschaften. Der Kodex ist Teil der Vereinssatzung.

Ansprechpartner für die von den Regelungen des Ethikkodex berührten Themenbereiche ist die Vertrauensperson. Sie soll in Konfliktfällen vermitteln und erarbeitet, gegebenenfalls in Zusammenarbeit mit der Ethikkommission, Handlungsempfehlungen für den Engeren Vorstand. Die Vertrauensperson genießt das besondere Vertrauen der Mitgliedschaft hinsichtlich ihrer Objektivität, Unabhängigkeit und Fairness. Sie wird auf Vorschlag des Engeren Vorstands für zwei Jahre durch den Erweiterten Vorstand gewählt. Eine einmalige Wiederwahl ist zulässig.

Leitgedanken

Die in der Präambel formulierten Leitgedanken des Ethikkodex des Vereins für Socialpolitik sind Transparenz, Objektivität, Unabhängigkeit und Fairness. Der Kodex regelt den Umgang von Wissenschaftlern untereinander, etwa durch Vorgaben zur Verwendung und Zitation eigener und fremdverfasster Arbeiten und auch das Verhältnis von Wissenschaftlern zum Umfeld.

Selbstverpflichtung

Die Annahme des Ethikkodex und die damit einhergehende Selbstverpflichtung, das eigene wissenschaftliche Arbeiten an den im Kodex aufgestellten Leitlinien auszurichten, ist Bedingung für eine Mitgliedschaft im Verein für Socialpolitik.

Reichweite

Der Ethikkodex ist kein Gesetz, sondern Ausdruck sozialer Normen, welche für alle Mitglieder des Vereins für Socialpolitik gelten. Die Herausgeber und Gutachter der vereinseigenen Zeitschriften sind, ebenso wie die am Einreichungsprozess der Vereinstagungen beteiligten Gutachter, diesem Kodex in besonderer Weise verpflichtet. Der Verein für Socialpolitik setzt sich aber auch dafür ein, dass sich andere Fachzeitschriften aus dem deutschsprachigen Sprachraum gemäß dem Kodex verhalten.

Vertrauensperson

  • gggg

    ©Simon Wegener

    Prof. Dr. Bettina Rockenbach

    Universität zu Köln Vertrauensperson

Ethikkommission

  • Ben Greiner

    Univ.Prof. Dr. Ben Greiner

    Wirtschaftsuniversität Wien
  • Alexander Kriwoluzky

    Prof. Dr. Alexander Kriwoluzky

    DIW Berlin
  • Kerstin Schneider

    Prof. Dr. Kerstin Schneider

    Universität Wuppertal

AG "Ethikkodex"

Aktuell befasst sich eine Arbeitsgruppe mit der Überarbeitung des Ethikkodex.

Dieser Arbeitsgruppe gehören folgende Mitglieder an:

  • Georg Weizsäcker

    ©Matthias Heyde

    Prof. Georg Weizsäcker, Ph.D.

    Humboldt Universität zu Berlin VfS-Vorsitzender
  • Ben Greiner

    Univ.Prof. Dr. Ben Greiner

    Wirtschaftsuniversität Wien
  • Alexander Kriwoluzky

    Prof. Dr. Alexander Kriwoluzky

    DIW Berlin
  • Aderonke Osikominu

    Prof. Dr. Aderonke Osikominu

    Universität Hohenheim
  • gggg

    ©Simon Wegener

    Prof. Dr. Bettina Rockenbach

    Universität zu Köln Vertrauensperson
  • Sulin Sardoschau

    Prof. Dr. Sulin Sardoschau

    Humboldt Universität zu Berlin
  • Kerstin Schneider

    Prof. Dr. Kerstin Schneider

    Universität Wuppertal
  • Doris Weichselbaumer

    Prof. Dr. Doris Weichselbaumer

    Universität Linz Diversitätsbeauftragte