Annual Meeting 2021

goal-image
26.09.2021 08:00
to 29.09.2021 18:00

Universität Regensburg
Universitätsstraße 31
93053 Regensburg
Germany

Core Conference: Ulrich Wagner (Mannheim University)
Open Meeting: Almuth Scholl (Konstanz University)
Local Organisation: Jürgen Jerger (Regensburg University)

Open Meeting 2021

Call for papers: February 1 - March 1, 2021

The Annual Conference of the Verein fuer Socialpolitik consists of an Open Meeting with mixed topics and of a core conference with invited lectures concerning “Climate Economics”. Presentations and Organised Sessions for the Open Meeting may be submitted from all fields of economics.

The submissions are evaluated by anonymous referees and subsequently selected by the Programme Committee. The decision of acceptance may be expected during by the end of June 2021. Membership in the Verein fuer Socialpolitik and acceptance of its Code of Ethics are required for presenting at the annual conference. After the acceptance of the submission, applications for membership can be made here.

With approval during the submission process, accepted contributions will be published in EconStor, the online publication database of the ZBW – Leibniz Information Center Economy which is a part of the collection of all VfS conference contributions. Further publication is not intended by the Verein fuer Socialpolitik.

EconStor is a disciplinary publication server for the distribution of economics research papers in Open Access. It is maintained by the ZBW - Leibniz Information Centre for Economics. Making your conference paper on EconStor as a pre-publication available, increases the visibility of your research (e.g. via RePEc) and does not conflict with the submission to a scholarly journal. If necessary, papers on EconStor can be withdrawn and deleted at any time. Further information here. 

Programme Committee of the Open Meeting (Chair: Almuth Scholl, University of Konstanz)

Anke Gerber (University of Hamburg)
Hendrik Hakenes (University of Bonn)
Philipp Harms (University of Mainz)
Leo Kaas (University of Frankfurt)
Michael Kvasnicka (University of Magdeburg)
Dominika Langenmayr (University of Eichstätt-Ingolstadt)
Sarah Lein (University of  Basel)
Hannah Schildberg-Hörisch (University of Düsseldorf)
Philipp Schmidt-Dengler (University of Vienna)
Carsten Trenkler (University of Mannheim)

Core Conference 2021: Climate Economics

Global climate change is one of the biggest challenges of our time. Slowing down climate change and adapting to its inevitable consequences will require enormous investments into new technologies and infrastructures for many decades to come. At the political level, effective climate policy requires collective action by sovereign states and a fair distribution of the costs among countries with very different levels of economic development. This year’s core conference highlights that economics is essential for understanding these problems as well as for analyzing and evaluating possible solutions.

Three keynotes by leading international scholars will give an overview of current economic research on climate policy design. William Nordhaus (Yale University) was awarded the 2018 Nobel Prize for integrating climate change into long-run macroeconomic analysis. He will talk about the failed architecture of current international agreements and present alternative designs. Much of the growth in future energy consumption is projected to come from non-OECD countries. Catherine Wolfram (University of California at Berkeley) will explain how technologies and policies designed to mitigate greenhouse gas emissions will work in the context of the energy systems in these markets. Complementary to reducing emissions are policies that regulate the extraction of fossil fuels and protect natural carbon sinks. Bård Harstad (University of Oslo) will argue that such supply-side policies have many advantages and, if designed optimally, can help to conserve tropical forests as well as coal.

A panel discussion with politicians, researchers, and stakeholders will focus on the economic implications of climate neutrality objectives stipulated in the European Green Deal.

Here, we hide external content that enhances the displayed content according to your cookie consent preferences. You can display this content with one click.

Jahrestagung 2021

goal-image
26.09.2021 08:00 Uhr
bis 29.09.2021 18:00 Uhr

Universität Regensburg
Universitätsstraße 31
93053 Regensburg
Deutschland

Kerntagung Organisation: Ulrich Wagner (Universität Mannheim)
Offene Tagung Organisation: Almuth Scholl (Universität Konstanz)
Lokale Organisation: Jürgen Jerger (Universität Regensburg)

Offene Tagung 2021

Call for Papers zu allen wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Themen  1. Februar - 1. März 2021

Die Jahrestagung besteht aus einem offenen Tagungsteil mit Präsentationen zu freien Themen und aus einem Kerntagungsteil mit eingeladenen Vorträgen zum Thema „Climate Economics“. Manuskripte zur Offenen Tagung können aus allen Arbeitsgebieten der Wirtschaftswissenschaften eingereicht werden, als Einzelreferate oder als organisierte Sessions.

Die Einreichungen werden von anonymen Gutachtern bewertet und daraufhin von der Programmkommission ausgewählt. Mit einer Entscheidung der Kommission kann bis Ende Juni 2021 gerechnet werden.

Die Mitgliedschaft im Verein für Socialpolitik und die damit verbundene Annahme des Ethikkodex des Vereins sind Voraussetzungen für das Halten eines Vortrages auf der Jahrestagung. Die Mitgliedschaft im Verein für Socialpolitik kann nach Annahme des Beitrages hier beantragt werden.

Angenommene Beiträge werden nach Zustimmung im Einreichungsprozess in der Online-Publikationsdatenbank EconStor der ZBW – Leibniz-Informationszentrum Wirtschaft als Teil der Sammlung aller VfS-Tagungsbeiträge veröffentlicht. Eine anderweitige Veröffentlichung durch den Verein für Socialpolitik ist nicht vorgesehen.

EconStor ist ein fachlicher Publikationsserver zur Verbreitung von wissenschaftlicher Literatur aus den Wirtschaftswissenschaften im Open Access und wird von der ZBW - Leibniz-Informationszentrum Wirtschaft betrieben. Die Verfügbarmachung Ihres Konferenzbeitrags auf EconStor stellt eine Vor-Veröffentlichung dar und dient der Sichtbarkeit ihrer Forschungsergebnisse (z.B. auch über RePEc). Dies steht einer Einreichung bei einem Journal nicht entgegen. Beiträge auf EconStor können bei Bedarf jederzeit zurückgezogen und wieder gelöscht werden. Weitere Infos hier.

 

Kommission zur wissenschaftlichen Vorbereitung der Offenen Tagung
unter der Leitung von Almuth Scholl (Universität Konstanz):

  • Anke Gerber (Universität Hamburg)
  • Hendrik Hakenes (Universität Bonn)
  • Philipp Harms (Universität Mainz)
  • Leo Kaas (Universität Frankfurt)
  • Michael Kvasnicka (Universität Magdeburg)
  • Dominika Langenmayr (Universität Eichstätt-Ingolstadt)
  • Sarah Lein (Universität Basel)
  • Hannah Schildberg-Hörisch (Universität Düsseldorf)
  • Philipp Schmidt-Dengler (Universität Wien)
  • Carsten Trenkler (Universität Mannheim)

Kerntagung 2021: Climate Economics

Der globale Klimawandel ist eine der größten Herausforderungen unserer Zeit. Die Verlangsamung des Klimawandels sowie die Anpassung an seine unausweichlichen Folgen werden über viele kommende Jahrzehnte hinweg enorme Investitionen in neue Technik und Infrastrukturen erfordern. Auf politischer Ebene bedarf eine effektive Klimapolitik des kollektiven Handelns souveräner Staaten und einer fairen Verteilung der Kosten zwischen Volkswirtschaften mit sehr unterschiedlichem Entwicklungsstand. Die diesjährige Kernkonferenz wirft ein Schlaglicht auf die grundlegende Bedeutung der Wirtschaftswissenschaften für das Verständnis dieser Probleme sowie für die Analyse und Bewertung möglicher Lösungen.

Drei Keynotes von führenden internationalen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern geben einen Überblick über die aktuelle ökonomische Forschung zur Gestaltung der Klimapolitik. William Nordhaus (Yale University) wurde 2018 mit dem Nobelpreis für die Integration des Klimawandels in die langfristige makroökonomische Analyse ausgezeichnet. Er wird die Gründe für das Scheitern bisheriger internationaler Klimaverträge analysieren und mögliche Alternativen vorstellen. Prognosen zufolge wird ein großer Anteil am Wachstum des globalen Energieverbrauchs in Nicht-OECD-Ländern stattfinden. Catherine Wolfram (University of California, Berkeley) wird erläutern, wie Technik und Regulierungsmaßnahmen zur Minderung des Ausstoßes von Treibhausgasen im Kontext der Energiesysteme in diesen Märkten funktionieren werden. Sinnvolle Ergänzungen zur Emissionsvermeidung sind Abbaubeschränkungen für fossile Brennstoffe und der Schutz natürlicher Kohlenstoffsenken. Der Vortrag von Bård Harstad (Universität Oslo) wird erörtern, wie eine solche angebotsorientierte Klimapolitik dazu beitragen kann, Regenwälder ebenso zu erhalten wie Kohlevorkommen.

Im Rahmen einer Podiumsdiskussion mit Vertretern aus Politik, Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft werden die wirtschaftlichen Auswirkungen der im „European Green Deal“ festgelegten Klimaneutralitätsziele diskutiert.

An dieser Stelle finden Sie einen externen Inhalt, der den Inhalt ergänzt. Sie können ihn sich mit einem Klick anzeigen lassen.