VfS-Annual Conference 2014

VfS-Annual Conference 2014


„Evidence-based Economic Policy“

Helmut Schmidt University / University of the Federal Armed Forces Hamburg

7th to 10th September 2014 




Core conference program:

Organization: Bernd Fitzenberger (University of Freiburg)


Plenary lectures: 

Tom MaCurdy (Stanford University): "Design of Pay-for-Performance Compensation for Healthcare Providers"

Richard Blundell (UCL and IFS): "Empirical Evidence and Tax Policy Reform"

Deborah Cobb-Clark (University of Melbourne): "Evidence Based Policy: Data requirements and making public policy evaluations public"

Volker Wieland (Goethe-Universität Frankfurt am Main): "Real-time model-based fiscal and monetary policy analysis"


The general theme of the conference is also covered in a panel discussion with leading and experienced representatives.


Jeromin Zettelmeyer (Head of Economic Policy, Federal Ministry of Economic Affairs and Energy): Opening Address 



Deutsche Bundesbank reception: 

Dinnerspeech: Andreas Dombret (Member of the Executive Board of the Deutsche Bundesbank)

"The economist and the lamp-post - Lessons from the crisis"



Open meeting sessions:

Chairperson: Klaus Adam (University of Mannheim)


Preparatory Commission: 

Sascha Becker (University of Warwick)

Frank Heinemann (Berlin University of Technology)

Dierk Herzer (Helmut Schmidt University, Hamburg)

Matthias Hoffmann (University of Zurich)

Keith Küster (University of Bonn)

Isabel Schnabel (Johannes Gutenberg University of Mainz)

Carsten Trenkler (University of Mannheim)

Jean Robert Tyran (University of Vienna)

Georg Weizsäcker (Humboldt University of Berlin)

Christine Zulehner (Goethe University of Frankfurt) 


Sumissions management:

Olaf Reimann (Berlin)


Registration Homepage: www.socialpolitik.eu.

The Call for Papers for the 2014 open meeting can be downloaded here.



Lokal Organization:

Michael Berlemann, Klaus B. Beckmann, Christian Pierdzioch 

(Helmut Schmidt University, Hamburg)


For further information, please visit the Conference Homepage.