Management Board

Management Board


The Management Board consists of: the chairperson, the deputy chairperson, the designated chairperson, the secretary, and the treasurer. 

At the expiration of the chairperson’s term of office, the designated chairperson then assumes the office and is, therefore, a member of the Management Board for four years (two as designated chairperson and two as chairperson).

The chairperson, the deputy chairperson, and the designated chairperson must be university professors.
The designated chairperson, the secretary, the deputy chairperson, and the treasurer are to be elected every two years. The treasurer may be re-elected, but all other members of the Management Board may only serve one term.
If one or more members of the Management Board resign during their term of office, its remaining members – or if none remain, the Executive Council – is empowered to provisionally fill vacancies in the Management Board until the next General Assembly takes place.
The Management Board conducts the association according to the resolutions of the General Assembly. The Treasurer shall submit a treasurer’s report to the Executive Council at the close of each fiscal year.
The current members of the Management Board (term in office 2021- 2022) are:

Georg Weizsäcker (c) M.Heyde


Prof. Georg Weizsäcker, Ph.D.


Humboldt University Berlin



Caren Sureth-Sloane

Vice Chair

Prof. Dr. Caren Sureth-Sloane


University of Paderborn


Regina Riphahn (c) M.Scholz f.d. Leopoldina

Designated Chair

Prof. Regina T. Riphahn, Ph.D.


University of Erlangen-Nuremberg


Friedrich Breyer


Prof. Dr. Friedrich Breyer 


University of Konstanz


Philipp Schmidt-Dengler


Prof. Philipp Schmidt-Dengler, Ph.D.


University of Vienna





 >> You can find a list of all former Management Board Members since 1949 here.