Governing bodies

 Engerer Vorstand 2019

The management board in February 2019: Friedrich Breyer, Nicola Fuchs-Schündeln, Geschäftsführerin Karolin Herrmann, Christine Zulehner und Georg Weizsäcker (not on the picture: Jörg Rocholl)


Governing bodies


The governing bodies of the Verein are:


1. The General Assembly

2. The Management Board

3. The Executive Council

4. The Standing Field Committees

5. The Managing Director

6. Ombudsperson for Ethical Matters




General Assembly


The General Assembly consists of all members of the Verein. Every member (including corporate members) has voting rights.  The General Assembly is generally convened every two years by the presiding chairperson, who sends an agenda to members four weeks before the appointed meeting date.

The General Assembly is empowered to set membership dues - without infringing the rights of the Executive Council to set corporate members contributions, the approval of the annual report, the formal approval of the Management Board’s actions, and well as the dissolution of the association.


For resolutions of the General Assembly, a simple majority of the members present is necessary; for resolution of the association and amendments to the bylaws (statutes), a two-thirds majority of members present is required.


Management Board


The Management Board consists of the chairperson, the deputy chairperson, the designated chairperson, the secretary, and the treasurer.


After the expiration of the chairperson’s term of office, the designated chairperson assumes office and is therefore a member of the Management Board for four years.
The chairperson, the deputy chairperson, and the designated chairperson must be university professors.


The designated chairperson, the secretary, the deputy chairperson, and the treasurer are to be elected every two years. The treasurer may be re-elected, but all other members of the Management Board may only serve one term.


If one or more members of the Management Board resign during their term of office, its remaining members – and in case none remain, the Executive Council – is empowered to provisionally fill vacancies in the Management Board until the next General Assembly takes place.

The Management Board manages the association according to the resolutions of the General Assembly. The Treasurer shall submit a treasurer’s report to the Executive Council at the close of each fiscal year.


Executive Council


The Executive Council is headed by the chairperson of the association and consists of:

1. The Management Board and both the immediate predecessors of the current chairperson and his deputy,
2. The chairmen of the standing field committees, which may be represented in absence by another member of the same standing field committee,
3. Ten members elected by the General Assembly with a non-renewable term of office of four years,
4. One member responsible for career development of young scholars, whose term of office is two years and renewable,
5. Members responsible for the scientific preparation of meetings, their term of office is limited to the exercise of their mandate,
6. Up to six members who may be nominated by the Executive Council, with a term of office of four years,
7. The managing editors of the association’s journals. 


The Executive Council shall decide on

a) time and place of the General Assembly meetings and other events,
b) questions arising in meetings,
c) the organization of studies and their publication, as well as the publication of journals,
d) the scientific preparation of conferences,
e) the appointment of honorary members,
f) the rules of procedure,
g) all other matters that are referenced to the Executive Council by a decision of the Management Board and the General Assembly.


Standing Field Committees


For the promotion of research in particular scientific areas, the Executive Council may constitute  standing field committees. The chairmen of the standing field committees are elected for a two-year renewable term.The committees may co-operate and can also consult persons who are not members of the Verein to participate as guests.


Managing Director


The Management Board may establish an office to support its work and appoint a managing director with the approval of the Executive Council.
The director is responsible for the management of current business as directed by the chairperson.


Ombudsperson for Ethical Matters


The Executive Council shall establish the office of Ombudsperson for ethical matters. This person should enjoy the highest confidence and trust of the membership, serve as first contact for all matters relating to the Code of Ethics, and mediate in cases of conflict whenever possible.


The Ombudsperson is elected by the Executive Council and proposed by the Management Board. The term of office is two years and is renewable for one additional term.



The Ethics Committee


The Executive Council shall establish a three-member Ethics Committee. It will be activated whenever necessary, in particular at request of the Ombudsperson. The Ethics Committee provides advice on the questions brought to its attention and develops recommendations for the Executive Council. The members of the Ethics Committee are elected by the Executive Council and proposed by the Management Board. Term of office is three years, which is renewable for one additional term. 



 Erweiterter Vorstand 2019
     The Executive Council in February 2019