SSES Annual Congress 2019 | Sustainable Development

Datum der Konferenz: 
13.06.2019 bis 14.06.2019
Deadline zur Einreichung von Beiträgen (Datum): 
Art der Konferenz: 
Konferenzen in A,CH,D
Inhaltliche Beschreibung: 

The Department of International Economics and the Centre for Finance and Development at the Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies in Geneva, Switzerland, are proud to host the Annual Meeting of the Swiss Society of Economics and Statistics (SSES/SGVS) on June 13 (Thursday) and June 14 (Friday), 2019. 

The special theme of the meeting will be Sustainable Development. Following the standard practice at SSES meetings, papers across all fields of economics and statistics are welcome and encouraged. Keynote speeches will be delivered by Eliana La Ferrara (Bocconi), Omer Moav (Warwick), and Debraj Ray (NYU). 



Authors will be able to submit their papers electronically (preliminary or full version, including abstract, JEL codes and keywords) between January 11, 2019 and February 4, 2019 via the conference website: There is no submission fee. However, presenters of accepted papers and other interested attendees have to be member of the SSES. Joining the SSES is possible later on as part of the registration process.  Authors who wish to be considered for the 2019 SSES Young Economist Award should indicate this when submitting papers. The papers to be presented will be selected by the Program Committee comprising colleagues from member institutions of the SSES. The presenting authors of accepted papers are expected to be available for presentation throughout both days of the meeting. Notifications of acceptance will be sent by email no later than April 1, 2019. The registration deadline for the conference is May 1, 2019. A selection of contributions related to the special theme will be published in a proceedings volume of the Swiss Journal of Economics and Statistics ( 


Jean-Louis Arcand (IHEID; Chair), Céline Carrere (U. Geneva), Lorenzo Casaburi (U. Zurich), Giacomo De Giorgi (U. Geneva), Elena Esposito (HEC Lausanne), Rui Esteves (IHEID),  Beatrix Eugster (U. St. Gallen), Simon Lüchinger (U. Lucerne),  Cyril Monnet (U. Bern), Boris Nikolov (HEC Lausanne/SFI), Ugo Panizza (IHEID), Raphael Parchet (U. Lugano), Marek Pycia (U. Zurich), Rahul Mukherjee (IHEID), Mark Schelker (U. Fribourg), Stefan Sperlich (U. Geneva), Cedric Tille (IHEID),  Lore Vandewalle (IHEID), Martina Viarengo (IHEID),  Rainer Winkelmann (U. Zurich).


Jean-Louis Arcand, Ugo Panizza, Rahul Mukherjee, Cedric Tille, Lore Vandewalle


We look forward to welcoming you in Geneva.

Land der Konferenz: 
Nina Hugelshofer
Swiss Society of Economics and Statistics
Ort der Konferenz: 
Maison de la Paix Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies Chemin Eugène-Rigot 2, 1202 Geneva